4Men, Alice, Bach and the Deer

Choreography: Yossi Berg and Oded Graf
Creating Performers: Hillel Kogan, Irad Mazliah, Oded Graf, Yossi Berg / Sergiu Matis and Thomas Michaux
Dramaturgy: Carmen Mehnert Text: Sergiu Matis
Music: J.S. Bach, Paul Kalkbrenner, The three Suns, Tarramago and his orchestra
Costumes, Set, and Lighting Design: Berg & Graf

Yossi Berg and Oded Graf; Tanzplan Dresden, Germany; HELLERAU-European Centre for Arts; the Dresden SemperOper; the Palucca Schule; The Lab Jerusalem. Supported by Teva Foundation for Excellence in Arts and Rabinovitz Foundation.

Tours the U.S. (San Francisco, Portland), Spain (Madrid), Slovenia (Ljubljana), Italy (Bari), South Korea (Seoul, Daegu), Canada (Vancouver), Poland (Warsaw, Bytom), Germany (Dresden, Bremen), Israel (Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, Kfar Blum, Tiberias), Serbia (Belgrade), Cyprus (Nicosia).

A humorous dark fantasy performed to the music of Johann Sebastian Bach about four men trying to find the ultimate “man” and daring to doubt his existence. A delightful and original show that combines text, singing, and dancing, “4Men, Alice, Bach and the Deer” was acclaimed by critics as “striking, unforgettable, poetic and surprising”.

From the press:

“It is exposed, explicit and noisy; it is constructed from a dizzying series of visual, structural and musical brilliancies. Like all fairy tales it is shocking, threatening and entertaining all at the same time…it literally removes the masks and this is where its integrity lies, as well as its boldness…”
Omri Hertzog, Achber online

“Great dance…There’s a lot to like about their new work…brilliant esthetic and humor, great dance and magical moments…impressive” Mart Prohumsky, Time Out

“Breathtaking of which we have never seen…it is  a leap forward that challenges the spectator no less than it entertains him, from beginning to end” Zvi Goren, Habama

“A dance-like fireworks…a fascinating dance of violence and tenderness, men and masculinity and the bloody misunderstanding that love is actually a martial art”
Boris Michael Gruhl, Tanznetz.de

Tech: 4 dancers Duration: 50 min Premiere: 2009

Download press kit